Words can be the most powerful weapon of all

My Audio

Sticks and stones can break my bones but words can kill. Bullying can lead to a variety of consequences; none of them positive. I believe bullying is wrong. Bullying over time traumatizes a person, pulls out the monsters in their heads which should be hidden away, and lastly it destroys self esteem and self worth.

In school I was bullied because of my skin color. Students called me names, compared me to racial stereotypes, and judged me by my skin before they got to know me. A classmate told me I wasn’t good enough because I did not have the high grades that were expected for my race. He was in just about all of my morning classes. He always said the same things in the other classes too. I used to laugh it off but as the weeks went by his words got stronger and stronger.

Soon his friends got involved and he turned my friends against me by telling them lies. Every move I made, everything  I said he had a rude comment about it. I lost my self-esteem, I never felt so low about myself and I soon fell into depression. Later, I came to a point where I did anything possible to avoid him. I stopped raising my hand in class, I tried to talk as little as possible and I didn’t do any projects that I had to present. I tried to be as invisible as possible. But that still wasn’t enough for him to not notice me, so I started skipping school.

Bullying changed my whole life, and it still haunts me to this day. It effects me internally and externally. Some effects are both internal and external; like the need to be invisible. Other people may question why I choose to fail two courses, but the simple answer is that I didn’t want to draw any attention to myself. I didn’t want to be a part of the class, but I wanted to slip away to somewhere else, somewhere judgments based on the color of my skin couldn’t find me. Even though it still affects me today I am at a much better place and a stronger person.

