There Is Something Inside You That Is Greater Than Any Obstacle

There Is Something Inside You That Is Greater Than Any Obstacle

Did you ever feel like you were going to lose someone that you love? “Faith is why she is here today and faith is why we made it through”. In 2009 after school, I had a ride home from a neighbor. I walked into the house and my Dad told me that my Mom had just been rushed to the hospital. We quickly got in the car and raced to the ER. She had a problem with her gall bladder.
My Mom was in the hospital for about a month. But it felt like forever. I wished that she could just come home with us so we could all be together. We used to take long car rides and just joke around but since she went to the hospital we can’t do those things. I prayed that my Mom would get better.
The month went by and she could finally come home. Once she came though she had complications from the surgery, so she had to be in the hospital for additional months. We visited her for hours everyday after school and on the weekends. I remember one time when my mom was a little loopy from the medicine. One of the funny moments that I will never forget was when she could only have ice in a cup with a sponge stick, one thing she said was “ why can’t I have some water? It’s not like I’m asking for a steak.”
My Mom was determined to come home for Christmas because she didn’t want to miss the family opening presents on Christmas Day and wanted us to be all together for the holidays. We prayed that she could come home for the holidays, luckily she did come home. On Christmas Day she was out with us opening presents and we were all happy because she was actually there with us having a good time and laughing. Months went by and my mom started to get healthier and she started feeling like herself again. She could go with the family to go shopping and come with us out to dinner just like we used to. I was happy that my mom was getting better because I couldn’t imagine what I would do without her. Praying got us through because praying made the pain go away. Like I said before, “Faith is why she is here today and faith is why we made it through.” My mom is determined because she didn’t want to miss out on anything that my family was doing no matter what it took.

